top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKathleen Lisson

Fitting mindfulness into a crazy schedule - my Five Mindfulness Opportunities


As a health coach, a few times a year I get the opportunity play the role of the 'client' for health coaching students at the local college.


I find being on the other side of the relationship so rewarding. It's a lot more effective to get the health coaching session than to try to 'motivate' myself.


I want to add more mindfulness to my schedule, but keeping up with the habit is difficult because my husband and I have wildly varying schedules.


So, my new idea is to have five opportunities per day, and take the ones that fit best with the day's schedule.






  • Meditate using the Waking Up app at 6:30 am (go to sleep at 10 am and open it up before social media)


  • Diana Winston 3 minute meditation before a session of computer work (leave tab open on browser and click that tab first http://marc.ucla.edu/mpeg/Body-Scan-Meditation.mp3 )


  • Momement of mindfulness before eating


  • Sandeep H. holds humming meditation at 7:30 pm PST on Clubhouse (the app sends a reminder on my phone)


  • Yoga in the evening with my husband (if he is doing yoga he can invite me too!)


I even came up with a pithy reason why I use mindfulness to improve focus on my work - "I need to put gas in the car before I can drive."


Ashly liked that one.


Ashly did a great job of OARS skills and connecting my goals to my values! She is going to be a great health coach!

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page